3 Realities

Because my youths are going to start a series on 2 Corinthians soon (and I’m teaching one chapter!), I’ve been listening to sermons on my way to school. Today’s was by Kevin DeYoung, on 2 Corinthians 4:16-18, which I was quite anticipating because I love those verses so much – and well, after the sermon, I love them even more. Very thankful for the Internet and sound recordings and faithful preachers (: It really is worth sacrificing one bus-ride’s worth of sleep / Candy Crush / Facebook (whatever you do on buses or trains) to be edified.

‘So we do not lose heart. Though our outer self is wasting away, our inner self is being renewed day by day. For this light momentary affliction is preparing for us an eternal weight of glory beyond all comparison, as we look not to the things that are seen but to the things that are unseen. For the things that are seen are transient, but the things that are unseen are eternal.’ (2 Cor 4:16-18 ESV)

Why do we not lose heart?

I see in these verses three promises we believe. Number one, we believe God works on the inside, even as the outside falls apart; number two, we believe that the life to come is incomparably better than the life here now; and number three, we believe that what we can’t see is better than what we do see.

I particularly love what he says about v17 –

Notice Paul’s logic, how the comparison works – He doesn’t downplay the suffering, he exults the glory. Our suffering looks bigger than it ought to, not because it is actually smaller than we think, but because glory is so much bigger than we imagine.

Glory. True joy. May I fix my eyes on what is above, purchased and secured by Jesus, my Almighty Lord and Saviour (: (:

Feel free to comment (:

