‘For I Know.’

I love the confidence of these two verses, especially coming from (1) a man who was holy and righteous, yet God allowed him to lose everything, until he was alone and upset, picking his scabs with broken pottery; (2) a man who had been beaten, stoned, lashed 39 x 5 times, starved, robbed, persecuted against, who was writing his swan-song letter to his faithful disciple, as he literally awaited death in prison.

For I know that my Redeemer lives, and at the last He will stand upon the earth. (Job 19:25)

But I am not ashamed, for I know Whom I have believed, and I am convinced that He is able to guard until that day what has been entrusted to me. (2 Tim 1:12)

I know. I know. Not I suppose, or I guess, or I hope. But I know. It is this conviction that will bring us through dark times, disbelieving times, dry times, doubtful times. I think C. S. Lewis hit the nail right on the head when he says, through Screwtape,

Our [the devil’s] cause is never more in danger than when a human, no longer desiring, but still intending, to do our Enemy’s [God’s] will, looks round upon a universe from which every trace of Him seems to have vanished, and asks why he has been forsaken, and still obeys. (The Screwtape Letters, chapter 8)

It is this stubborn hope – clinging on to, in the dark, what we knew to be true in the light. I know. I know.

Feel free to comment (:

