Jesus, My Hiding Place

Original hymn by Jehoida Brewer, adapted by Matthew Smith, looping. It’s an absolutely beautiful hymn/poem, marking the route of conversion and the truths that chart one’s life thereon: pride and denial – God’s love and truth ‘arresting’ me – trying to run to law and morality, yet finding that Sinai condemns me – grace finding me in the form of Jesus – knowing His cross and His love – secure in the salvation He has purchased – having the hope and faith to live the rest of my dying days.

The lyrics below are mostly Smith’s version, with slight edits that I thought sounded better read, and I added in the last verse of the original because I think it makes a lovely, hopeful ending.

Against the God who rules the sky,
I fought with hand uplifted high;
Despised the mention of His grace,
Too proud to seek a hiding place.

Wrapped in shadows of the night,
Fond of darkness more than light;
Blind, I ran the sinful race,
I felt no need for a hiding place.

But then the eternal counsel ran,
“Almighty love, arrest this man!”
I felt the arrows of distress,
Found I had no shield, no hiding place.

Holy justice stood in view,
To Sinai’s fiery mount I flew;
But justice cried with frowning face,
‘This mountain is no hiding place!’

But then a heavenly voice I heard,
And mercy for my soul appeared;
Who led me on with gentle pace,
To Jesus as my hiding place.

On Him almighty vengeance fell,
Which would have sunk this world to Hell;
He bore it for a sinful race,
To make Himself our hiding place.

Should seven storms of vengeance roll,
And shake this earth from pole to pole;
No thunderbolt shall daunt my face,
While Jesus is my hiding place.

A few more rolling suns, at most,
Will land me safe on heaven’s coast;
Where I shall sing the song of grace,
And see my glorious Hiding Place.

Feel free to comment (:

