2 Corinthians Series Begins!

My youths have started a series on 2 Corinthians, and I think I’m the most excited about it (despite not being a youth) (: Mostly because it’s one of my favourite books in the Bible, in how it talks about weakness, affliction and suffering; about looking upward and heavenward in times of trial and persecution, and about how a church and Christian disciples should truly be like. Thus I’ve been quite involved in creating some simple publicity for it – here’s the flyer, with the theme verse that G (another youth mentor, in charge of ‘Teaching’) and I chose:

Poster

And here’s the summary of the first session (today), thanks to G who gave the message:

Summary 1

I love, love, love everything I learnt today. Talk about being an indictment against the health-wealth / prosperity gospel (;

Did I also mention, the theme song is my favourite hymn ‘Jesus, I My Cross Have Taken’ (the hymn, incidentally, from which this blog is titled)? Yes, I had a nefarious hand in that.

I’m beyond glad that the youths are going into expositional teaching, are going to hear about suffering and persecution and all the realities that we will all have to face, sooner or later. Praying deeply that God’s word, despite all our weak and flimsy teaching, will achieve the purposes for which He sent it and not return empty (Isaiah 55:11), cutting through the souls and spirits and joints and marrows of the youths (and the teachers) like the two-edged sword it is (Heb 4:12).

Ending this short post with this beautiful reminder (from today’s message) of the sole true Comfort we have, the first two question-and-answers of the Heidelberg Catechism –

Q: What is thy only comfort in life and death? 

A: That I with body and soul, both in life and death, am not my own, but belong unto my faithful Saviour Jesus Christ; who, with His precious blood, has fully satisfied for all my sins, and delivered me from all the power of the devil; and so preserves me that without the will of my heavenly Father, not a hair can fall from my head; yea, that all things must be subservient to my salvation, and therefore, by His Holy Spirit, He also assures me of eternal life, and makes me sincerely willing and ready, henceforth, to live unto Him.

Q: How many things are necessary for thee to know, that thou, enjoying this comfort, mayest live and die happily?

A: Three; the first, how great my sins and miseries are; the second, how I may be delivered from all my sins and miseries; the third, how I shall express my gratitude to God for such deliverance.

Praise God, from Whom all blessings flow (:

Feel free to comment (:

