& september ends;

Happy October! This officially marks the start of peak PEAK at work (tax filing deadline is 30 November), although it’s already been go-home-after-9 every day for the past 2.5 months and bring-home-CIT-queries-over-the-weekend (mostly because I can’t bring home tax computations, they don’t work very well on my iMac). It’s tiring, but in a happy productive way, and being closer with my colleagues means more dinners and desserts in between our OT-ing. I’m glad, and I still like my work (:

Being busy for me, though, also means short-temperedness and irritability. It’s so easy to be “caught up” in everything around me, and ironically to end up remarkably self-centered. One of the songs that keeps helping to anchor me to what truly matters is the Gettys’ My Worth is Not in What I Own. On days when I’m tempted to lash out, I plug in and loop this while I prepare tax computations / reply emails / explain to the IRAS why we’re right etc.

To remember that it’s not about proving myself over and against others at work:

My worth is not in skill or name
In win or lose, in pride or shame
But in the blood of Christ that flowed
At the cross

To remember to watch my pride:

I will not boast in wealth or might
Or human wisdom’s fleeting light
But I will boast in knowing Christ
At the cross

To remember not to measure my, or others’, worth by the world’s weights:

Two wonders here that I confess
My worth and my unworthiness
My value fixed – my ransom paid
At the cross

And most of all, to rejoice with “soul-deep joy”, especially when things aren’t going well and stress is building:

I rejoice in my Redeemer
Greatest Treasure, 
Wellspring of my soul
I will trust in Him, no other. 
My soul is satisfied in Him alone. 

I’m so thankful for true words, sang well, in a beautiful melody. On a sidenote, definitely playing / singing this for my wedding (:

My soul is satisfied in You alone.

Feel free to comment (:

